Health Analysis By Astro & Vastu Consultant

Health Analysis By Astro & Vastu Consultant

Physical Diagnosis By Vedic Doctors

Ayurveda has eight ways to diagnose illness, called Nadi (pulse), Mootra (urine), Mala (stool), Jihva (tongue), Shabda (speech), Sparsha (touch), Druk (vision), and Aakruti (appearance). Ayurveda has been using the pulse as a form of diagnosis since it was created 5000 years ago. In Ayurveda, the pulse is used in conjunction with Darshana (pure observation and inspection) , and Prashna (questioning). The overall method of taking the pulse begins with the placement of the fingers. The index finger is placed below the radial styloid. The radial styloid is the protruding wrist bone on the thumb side of the hand of the pulse recipient. The middle finger and ring finger are placed next to the index finger. The pulse taking fingers are adjusted along the underside of the arm to find where the pulse is the strongest.


The pulse is the beating of blood through the arteries as it moves outward from the heart. The blood carries nutrients to each cell in the body, just as thought is transferred through chemical reactions in the cells simultaneously, intelligence is found in the blood in the information it carries to each cell. In Ayurveda, this information carried by the blood is made of the 5 elements: earth, water, fire, air, and ether. These are the scientific building blocks of Ayurveda. The 5 elements are used to explain in simple terms what science has determined through complex experiments. These elements combine in three distinct ways in the physical form. These are the Doshas , psycho-physiological functional principles of the body. The threeDoshas are Vata which combines the elements of air and ether. Pitta is fire and an aspect of water. Kapha is water and earth. We can find theDoshas in the qualities and textures that can be felt in the pulse. The Doshas have concrete qualities that are made when their respective elements are combined. Doshas being combinations of elements are not only found in the body, but also in the environment.
These individual characteristics define the overall movement, quality, and rhythm of the pulse. In these broader categories theDoshas of Vata , Pitta , and Kapha can be distinguished based on the smaller movements sketched graphically by a cardiograph. In pulse diagnosis our fingers become the receptors that transfer the information of the heart beat graphically into a more concrete image. The Gati(movement) is best defined by the natural world.
The rate is dependent on the dominance of the Doshas in Ayurveda. Vata is 80-90 beats per minute. Pitta is 70-80 bpm. Kapha is 60-70 bpm. The rhythm of the pulse can be irregular or regular.

    There are seven levels of the pulse

  • Prakriti
  • Manas Prakriti
  • Dhatu
  • Ojas/tejas/prana
  • Subdoshas
  • Vikriti
  • Manas Vikriti